Florida motorcyclists will benefit from learning about the traffic rules in the Sunshine State to ensure they stay safe out on the road. In particular, it may help to understand the laws regarding motorcycle helmets.
Wearing a motorcycle helmet in Florida
Florida laws regarding mandatory motorcycle helmets vary based on several factors. Persons over the age of 21 are not required to wear helmets as long as they carry sufficient insurance. The insurance coverage must pay at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries suffered from a crash. However, $10,000 might not cover the medical expenses of someone who suffers a terrible injury. Motorcyclists may look into increasing their benefits coverage to address severe injuries, including brain and spinal damage.
Anyone under the age of 21 must wear a helmet under all circumstances. The law also notes that all motorcycle riders must wear “securely fastened” headgear regardless of age. Improperly fastened headgear might not deliver the necessary protection.
Legal claims against negligent parties
All motorcyclists must try hard to operate their bikes safely, but it’s recommended that they wear a helmet to protect themselves from other drivers. While adherence to motorcycle safety is commendable, a rider cannot guarantee how someone else will operate their vehicle.
Car accidents involving vehicles hitting a motorcyclist could leave a biker with permanent injuries. Deaths may result after devastating crashes, leaving survivors in a terrible situation. The survivors might then file a wrongful death lawsuit.
Motorcyclists injured by a negligent driver could take legal action by filing a claim to cover everything from medical expenses to lost wages. Of course, when the motorcyclist is responsible for the crash, drivers and pedestrians could be the ones exploring legal steps.