Learn More About Personal Injury Protection

Florida motorists are required by law to have a minimum amount of $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) to cover medical bills and lost wages resulting from a car accident. Florida is a no-fault state, which means that car accident victims are required to go through their own PIP insurance provider regardless of who was responsible. While PIP benefits ensure that injured parties can receive payment for some of their losses, it also means that many car accident victims who sustain serious injuries can make claims against the at-fault parties.

At Piccin & Glynn, we help our injured clients collect their deserved compensation from their insurance companies and from the at-fault parties. You can learn more about collecting compensation for your own Florida accident, by contacting our Ocala office. Call us now at 352-581-6174 to schedule your free consultation.

Understanding No-Fault Insurance

Full PIP, or no-fault insurance benefits, are available to accident victims who can prove that they received medical treatment for their injuries within two weeks of their accident. Those who don’t meet this requirement are ineligible to receive full PIP benefits. However, even accident victims who can collect full PIP benefits will face certain limits.

No-fault insurance benefits, for example, cover only 80 percent of medical bills and rehabilitative services and only 60 percent of lost wages of up to a combined total of $10,000 if the injury is considered an emergency medical condition.  The surviving family members of an accident victim who lost his or her life are eligible to receive $5,000 to cover funeral-related costs.

While these benefits can defray some of the cost of treating a car accident injury, they are often not enough. In these cases, an injured party must attempt to recover damages from the at-fault driver/owner

Filing A Car Accident Claim In Florida

Generally, only those who are involved in car accidents and who sustain serious injuries have standing to file a personal injury suit against the negligent party or parties who caused their accident. In Florida, only certain injuries qualify as serious, including:

  • Permanent injuries;
  • Significant and permanent disfigurement or scarring; or
  • The permanent and significant loss of a bodily function.

When car accident victims can demonstrate that their injury falls under one of these categories, they may be eligible to recover damages from the at-fault party including medical expenses, noneconomic property damage, pain and suffering and other intangible or noneconomic damages.

Contact Our Legal Team Now

Piccin & Glynn helps clients in the Ocala area, Marion County and across central Florida. Contact us now to speak with an experienced car accident attorney about your own collision and resulting injuries. Call us at 352-581-6174 or send us an email today.